Deduction of maintenance reserve for real estate transfer tax no longer possible!

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Blockchain
pexels.com | expect best

The decision of the Federal Fiscal Court related to the legal question of whether a maintenance reserve taken over when acquiring part-ownership reduces the basis of assessment for real estate transfer tax pursuant to Section 9 (1) No. 1 of the German Real Estate Transfer Tax Act (GrEStG).

In the decision, the plaintiff acquired condominium ownership of four commercial units and nine underground parking spaces by notarized purchase agreement. The purchase agreement stated that the seller's share of the common funds (advances, maintenance reserve, etc.) would be transferred to the buyer upon transfer of ownership. The purchase price was €40,000. The tax office assessed the real estate transfer tax without reducing the assessment basis by the maintenance reserve of €14,815.19 in total. The appeal and the lawsuit were unsuccessful.

The Federal Fiscal Court (Bundesfinanzhof, BFH) ruled that in the case of the acquisition of part-ownership, the agreed purchase price is not to be reduced by the pro rata maintenance provision as the basis of assessment for land transfer tax. This is because the basis of assessment for land transfer tax is the consideration pursuant to Section 8 (1) of the German Real Estate Transfer Tax Act (GrEStG). Pursuant to the wording of Sec. 9 (1) No. 1 GrEStG, the purchase price is to be used as the basis of assessment. 

The pro rata maintenance provision is part of the administrative assets of the condominium owners' association and thus not assets of the condominium owner, but assets of another legal entity. The condominium owners' association is a sui generis association with partial legal capacity and party capacity independent of the respective number of members. Pursuant to § 10 (7) sentence 1 WEG, it owns the administrative assets. The condominium owners have no share in the administrative assets which they can dispose of. A legal transaction acquisition of this position is not possible under civil law.

The decision is consistent in both its outcome and its reasoning. In view of the past increases in real estate transfer tax rates (e.g. in NRW to 6.5%) and the associated record income of the state from real estate transfer tax, the financial burdens on the purchase of residential property have risen sharply. Since the maintenance reserve may now no longer be deducted from the assessment basis for land transfer tax, this leads to a further increase in ancillary purchase costs.

Many tax offices have so far suspended appeals against real estate transfer tax assessments in which the deduction of the maintenance reserve was denied. Following this decision, however, it can be assumed that processing will be continued in the short term with a (negative) decision.

If you have any questions, especially about real estate transfer tax, you can send me an email (m.figatowski@gtkr.de) or call my law office in Bonn at +49228-967624-0.

Abzug der Instandhaltungsrücklage bei der Grunderwerbsteuer nicht mehr möglich!

  • Beitrags-Autor:
  • Beitrags-Kategorie:Blockchain
pexels.com | expect best

Die Entscheidung des Bundesfinanzhofes bezog sich auf die rechtliche Frage, ob eine übernommene Instandhaltungsrücklage beim Erwerb von Teileigentum die grunderwerbsteuerliche Bemessungsgrundlage nach § 9 Abs. 1 Nr. 1 GrEStG mindert.

In der Entscheidung erwarb der Kläger mit notariellem Kaufvertrag Sondereigentum an vier Gewerbeeinheiten und neun Tiefgaragenstellplätzen. In dem Kaufvertrag heißt es, der Anteil des Verkäufers an den gemeinschaftlichen Geldern (Vorschüsse, Instandhaltungsrücklage usw.) gehe bei Besitzübergang auf den Käufer über. Der Kaufpreis betrug 40.000 €. Das Finanzamt setzte die Grunderwerbsteuer ohne Minderung der Bemessungsgrundlage um die Instandhaltungsrücklage von insgesamt 14.815,19 € fest. Der Einspruch und die Klage blieben erfolglos.

Der BFH entschied, dass beim Erwerb von Teileigentum der vereinbarte Kaufpreis als Bemessungsgrundlage der Grunderwerbsteuer nicht um die anteilige Instandhaltungsrückstellung zu mindern ist. Denn Bemessungsgrundlage der Grunderwerbsteuer ist gemäß § 8 Abs. 1 GrEStG die Gegenleistung. Nach dem Wortlaut des § 9 Abs. 1 Nr. 1 GrEStG ist grundsätzlich der Kaufpreis als Bemessungsgrundlage anzusetzen. 

Die anteilige Instandhaltungsrückstellung ist Teil des Verwaltungsvermögens der Wohnungseigentümergemeinschaft und damit nicht Vermögen des Wohnungseigentümers, sondern Vermögen eines anderen Rechtssubjekts. Die Wohnungseigentümergemeinschaft ist ein vom jeweiligen Mitgliederbestand unabhängiger teilrechtsfähiger und parteifähiger Verband sui generis. Ihr gehört nach § 10 Abs. 7 Satz 1 WEG das Verwaltungsvermögen. Die Wohnungseigentümer haben keinen Anteil am Verwaltungsvermögen, über den sie verfügen können. Ein rechtsgeschäftlicher Erwerb dieser Position ist zivilrechtlich nicht möglich.

Die Entscheidung ist wohl im Ergebnis als auch in der Begründung konsequent. Angesichts der vergangenen Erhöhungen bei den Grunderwerbsteuersätzen (z.B. in NRW auf 6,5 %) und den damit verbundenen Rekordeinnahmen des Staates bei der Grunderwerbsteuer sind die finanziellen Belastungen beim Erwerb von Wohnungseigentum stark gestiegen. Da die Instandhaltungsrücklage von der grunderwerbsteuerlichen Bemessungsgrundlage nunmehr nicht mehr abgezogen werden darf, führt dies zu einer weiteren Erhöhung der Kaufnebenkosten.

Viele Finanzämter haben bislang Einsprüche gegen die Grunderwerbsteuerbescheide, in denen der Abzug der Instandhaltungsrücklage verwehrt wurde, bislang von der Bearbeitung ausgesetzt. Nach dieser Entscheidung ist allerdings davon auszugehen, dass die Bearbeitung mit (negativer) Entscheidung kurzfristig fortgesetzt wird.

Fragen insbesondere zur Grunderwerbsteuer können Sie mir per Email (m.figatowski@gtkr.de) zusenden oder rufen Sie in meiner Rechtsanwaltskanzlei in Bonn unter +49228-967624-0 an.