Exit Tax and Cryptocurrencies: Tax problems when emigrating with Bitcoin & Co.

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Steuerrecht

Many investors who hold cryptocurrencies in their private assets may be toying with the idea of leaving Germany and moving abroad.

Domicile and habitual residence

In principle, you are liable for tax on your worldwide income in Germany if you have either your domicile (Section 8 of the German Fiscal Code) or your habitual residence (Section 9 of the German Fiscal Code) in Germany.

A person shall be deemed to have his or her habitual residence where he or she is staying under circumstances which indicate that he or she is staying at that place or in that area on more than a temporary basis. Habitual residence within the scope of this Act shall always and from the beginning be deemed to be a continuous stay of more than six months; short-term interruptions shall not be taken into account.

If the domicile or habitual residence is abandoned, the unlimited tax liability in Germany is terminated. This raises the question of whether this can lead to a disposal of the cryptocurrencies held.

Basic Features § 23 EStG

As is generally known, a private sale transaction with cryptocurrencies according to Section 23 of the German Income Tax Act (EStG) exists if there is less than one year between the acquisition and sale of the cryptocurrencies.

Furthermore, the exemption limit (no tax-free amount) of 600 euros must be exceeded. If there is more than one year between the acquisition and the disposal, the capital gain remains fully tax-free. Finally, in the view of the tax authorities, each disposal transaction of a cryptocurrency must be considered individually in the context of the assessment under Section 23 EStG according to the so-called first-in-first-out (FiFo) method.

A disposal within the meaning of Section 23 EStG requires a transfer of the acquired cryptocurrencies to a third party against payment. Therefore, a sale of the cryptocurrencies held as private assets cannot be assumed due to the departure from Germany. There is also no transaction similar to a sale.

Foreign Tax Act (AStG)

Those willing to emigrate may have heard of the Foreign Tax Act (AStG). The Foreign Tax Act was introduced in 1973 and is intended to ensure German taxation rights in the event of an emigration abroad or a transfer of income or assets to a foreign country.

First of all, exit taxation may arise under Sec. 6 AStG in conjunction with Sec. 17 EStG if the emigrant holds an interest of at least 1% in a corporation. According to Sec. 6 (1) Sentence AStG, the prerequisite is specifically that the natural person was subject to unlimited tax liability for a total of at least ten years and that his unlimited tax liability ends as a result of giving up his domicile or habitual residence. If the shareholding in a corporation is less than 1%, exit taxation is not an option. It is to be assumed that cryptocurrencies are obviously not to be regarded as shares in a corporation within the meaning of Section 17 EStG.

AStG und Aragon (ANT)

The assessment might be different for Decentralized Autonomous Organizations (DAO), e.g. the Aragon organization. With the help of the Aragon "governance Lego blocks" DAOs can be created. However, the tax classification is completely unclear, since the legal classification of a DAO under company law is already unclear.

Extended unlimited tax liability according to § 2 AStG

The extended unlimited tax liability is regulated in § 2 AStG. A distinction must be made between the personal and factual requirements. The personal requirements for extended limited tax liability pursuant to Sec. 2 (1) AStG include:

  • the taxpayer was in the last ten years before the end of his unlimited tax liability 
  • as a German citizen 
  • was subject to unlimited income tax liability for a total of at least five years. 

The extended limited tax liability requires, among other things, that the taxpayer moves to a low-taxed foreign territory. The legislator presumes such a territory if the foreign territory levies an income tax on an unmarried person with an income of 77,000 euros that is more than one third lower than the German income tax.

Finally, the person must have substantial interests within the scope of this law. Material interests means that the domestic income, i.e. income that is not foreign income within the meaning of Section 34d EStG in the case of unlimited income tax liability,

  • amount to more than 30 percent of their total income in the assessment period or exceed 62,000 euros (No. 2) or 
  • at the beginning of the assessment period, the assets of the person whose income would not be foreign income within the meaning of Section 34d EStG if he or she were subject to unlimited income tax liability exceed 30 percent of his or her total assets, or 
  • 154 000 Euro not exceeding.

The concept of income also includes other income within the meaning of Section 22 EStG if, in the case of private sales transactions within the meaning of Section 23 EStG, the assets sold (i.e. cryptocurrencies) are not located abroad.  In any case, if the cryptocurrencies are stored on a cold wallet and the investor then moves away from Germany, the sale of the cryptocurrency within the speculation period of § 23 para 1 sentence 1 No. 2 EStG or under the conditions of § 23 para 1 sentence 1 No. 2 sentence 4 EStG within 10 years should trigger the extended limited tax liability under § 2 AStG.  

Therefore, a lawyer specializing in cryptocurrencies should always be consulted in removal cases involving cryptocurrencies.

by Martin Figatowski, Attorney at Law, LL.M. (Tax)

Exit Tax und Kryptowährungen: Steuerliche Probleme beim Auswandern mit Bitcoin & Co.

  • Beitrags-Autor:
  • Beitrags-Kategorie:Steuerrecht

Viele Anleger, die Kryptowährungen im Privatvermögen halten, spielen ggf. mit dem Gedanken, Deutschland zu verlassen und in das Ausland zu ziehen.

Wohnsitz und gewöhnlicher Aufenthalt

Grundsätzlich ist man mit seinem Welteinkommen in Deutschland steuerpflichtig, wenn man entweder seinen Wohnsitz (§ 8 Abgabenordnung) oder seinen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt (§ 9 Abgabenordnung) in Deutschland hat.

Den gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt hat jemand dort, wo er sich unter Umständen aufhält, die erkennen lassen, dass er an diesem Ort oder in diesem Gebiet nicht nur vorübergehend verweilt. Als gewöhnlicher Aufenthalt im Geltungsbereich dieses Gesetzes ist stets und von Beginn an ein zeitlich zusammenhängender Aufenthalt von mehr als sechs Monaten Dauer anzusehen; kurzfristige Unterbrechungen bleiben unberücksichtigt.

Wird der Wohnsitz oder gewöhnliche Aufenthalt aufgegeben, so wird die unbeschränkte Steuerpflicht in Deutschland beendet. Damit stellt sich die Frage, ob dies zu einer Veräußerung der gehaltenen Kryptowährungen führen kann.

Grundzüge § 23 EStG

Bekanntlich liegt ein privates Veräußerungsgeschäft mit Kryptowährungen nach § 23 Einkommensteuergesetz (EStG) vor, wenn zwischen Anschaffung und Verkauf der Kryptowährungen weniger als ein Jahr liegt.

Ferner muss die Freigrenze (kein Freibetrag) von 600 Euro überschritten sein. Liegt zwischen der Anschaffung und der Veräußerung mehr als ein Jahr, so bleibt der Veräußerungsgewinn in voller Höhe steuerfrei. Nach Ansicht der Finanzverwaltung ist schließlich im Rahmen der Beurteilung nach § 23 EStG jeder Veräußerungsvorgang einer Kryptowährung einzeln nach der sogenannten First-in-First-out (FiFo) Methode zu betrachten.

Eine Veräußerung im Sinne des § 23 EStG setzt eine entgeltliche Übertragung der angeschafften Kryptowährungen auf einen Dritten voraus. Daher kann durch den Wegzug aus Deutschland eine Veräußerung der im Privatvermögen gehaltenen Kryptowährungen nicht angenommen werden. Es liegt auch kein veräußerungsähnlicher Vorgang vor.

Außensteuergesetz (AStG)

Auswanderungswillige dürften schon einmal von dem Außensteuergesetz (AStG) gehört haben. Das Außensteuergesetz wurde 1973 eingeführt und soll bei einem Wegzug ins Ausland bzw. bei einer Verlagerung von Einkommen oder Vermögens in das Ausland das deutsche Besteuerungsrecht sicherstellen.

Zunächst kann sich eine Wegzugsbesteuerung nach § 6 AStG in Verbindung mit § 17 EStG ergeben, wenn der Auswandernde an einer Kapitalgesellschaft zu mindestens 1 % beteiligt ist. Voraussetzung ist nach § 6 Abs. 1 Satz AStG konkret, dass die natürliche Person insgesamt mindestens zehn Jahre unbeschränkt steuerpflichtig war und deren unbeschränkte Steuerpflicht durch Aufgabe des Wohnsitzes oder gewöhnlichen Aufenthalts endet. Liegt die Beteiligung an einer Kapitalgesellschaft unter 1 % kommt eine Wegzugsbesteuerung nicht in Betracht. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass Kryptowährungen offensichtlich nicht als Anteile an einer Kapitalgesellschaft im Sinne von § 17 EStG anzusehen sind.

AStG und Aragon (ANT)

Anders könnte die Beurteilung ggf. bei Dezentralen Autonomen Organisationen (DAO) ausfallen, z.B. bei der Aragon Organisation. Mit Hilfe der Aragon „governance Lego blocks“ können DAO erschaffen werden. Die steuerliche Einordnung ist indes völlig unklar, da bereits die gesellschaftsrechtliche Einordnung eines DAO juristisch ungeklärt ist.

Erweiterte unbeschränkte Steuerpflicht nach § 2 AStG

Die erweiterte unbeschränkte Steuerpflicht ist in § 2 AStG geregelt. Dabei ist zwischen den persönlichen und sachlichen Voraussetzungen zu unterscheiden. Zu den persönlichen Voraussetzungen der erweiterten beschränkten Steuerpflicht nach § 2 Abs. 1 AStG gehört:

  • der Steuerpflichtige war in den letzten zehn Jahren vor Ende seiner unbeschränkten Steuerpflicht 
  • als Deutscher 
  • insgesamt mindestens fünf Jahre unbeschränkt einkommensteuerpflichtig war. 

Sachlich setzt die erweiterte beschränkte Steuerpflicht u.a. voraus, dass der Steuerpflichtige in ein niedrig besteuertes ausländisches Gebieten wegzieht.Der Gesetzgeber vermutet ein solches Gebiet, wenn das ausländische Gebiet von einer unverheirateten Person bei einem Einkommen von 77.000 Euro eine Einkommensteuer erhebt, die um mehr als ein Drittel geringer ist als die deutsche Einkommensteuer.

Schließlich muss die Person, wesentliche Interessen im Geltungsbereich dieses Gesetzes haben. Wesentliche Interessen meint, dass die inländischen Einkünfte, d.h. solche, die bei unbeschränkter Einkommensteuerpflicht nicht ausländische Einkünfte im Sinne des § 34d EStG sind,

  • im Veranlagungszeitraum mehr als 30 Prozent ihrer sämtlichen Einkünfte betragen oder 62 000 Euro übersteigen (Nr. 2) oder 
  • zu Beginn des Veranlagungszeitraums das Vermögen der Person, dessen Erträge bei unbeschränkter Einkommensteuerpflicht nicht ausländische Einkünfte im Sinne des § 34d EStG wären, mehr als 30 Prozent ihres Gesamtvermögens beträgt oder 
  • 154 000 Euro übersteigt.

Unter den Einkunftsbegriff fallen auch sonstige Einkünfte im Sinne des § 22 EStG, wenn  bei privaten Veräußerungsgeschäften im Sinne des § 23 EStG die veräußerten Wirtschaftsgüter (d.h. Kryptowährungen) nicht im Ausland belegen ist. Jedenfalls, wenn die Kryptowährungen auf einer Cold Wallet gespeichert sind und der Anleger sodann aus Deutschland wegzieht,  dürfte die Veräußerung der Kryptowährung innerhalb der Spekulationsfrist des § 23 Abs. 1 Satz 1 Nr. 2 EStG bzw. unter den Voraussetzungen des § 23 Abs. 1 Satz 1 Nr. 2 Satz 4 EStG innerhalb von 10 Jahren die erweiterte beschränkte Steuerpflicht nach § 2 AStG auslösen. 

Bei Wegzugsfällen im Zusammenhang mit Kryptowährungen sollte daher stets ein auf Kryptowährungen spezialisierter Rechtsanwalt hinzugezogen werden.

von Rechtsanwalt Martin Figatowski, LL.M. (Tax)