Tax data protection application to the Federal Central Tax Office (BZSt)

Tax citizens and tax advisors are just beginning to recognize the importance and the possibilities of tax data protection applications in accordance with Article 15 of the Basic Data Protection Regulation (DSGVO) and § 32c of the German Fiscal Code (AO) vis-à-vis tax authorities.  In this context, it is also worth taking a look at the Federal Central Tax Office (BZSt) and the personal data stored there.

For example, the data stored for the tax identification number, the church tax deduction features and the electronic wage tax deduction features (ELStAM) can be obtained by submitting a tax data protection application to the BZSt. The ELStAM may be interested in, for example, which employer last accessed these data and with which wage tax class.

Information on exempted investment income is also of interest. If entities obliged to deduct tax from capital income (e.g. banks, insurance companies, housing associations or building societies) refrain from deducting tax on the basis of an exemption certificate (FSA) or non-assessment certificate (NVB), they must report this to the BZSt. By submitting an application for information in accordance with Art. 15 DSGVO, taxpayers or their tax advisors can then obtain a tabular overview of all reports for the last 13 years. The table shows, among other things, the name of the reporting office, the name of the creditor, the reporting year, the reason for reporting (FSA/NVB) and the amount of capital actually exempted.

In particular, the tax data protection information on the actually exempted investment income enables taxpayers and tax advisors to obtain a summary of all non-assessment certificates and exemption orders within a very short time.

It would therefore be advisable for more taxpayers to request their data from tax authorities such as the BZSt. On the one hand, these personal data can be checked for completeness. At the same time, it can be assumed that an increase in the number of requests for information will improve the tax authorities' awareness and sensitivity in dealing with the personal data of their tax citizens.

Steuerlicher Datenschutzantrag beim Bundeszentralamt für Steuern (BZSt)

  • Beitrags-Autor:
  • Beitrags-Kategorie:Datenschutzrecht

Steuerbürger und steuerliche Berater beginnen gerade erst damit, die Bedeutung und die Möglichkeiten von steuerlichen Datenschutzanträgen nach Artikel 15 Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (DSGVO) sowie § 32c Abgabenordnung (AO) gegenüber Finanzbehörden zu erkennen.  In dem Zusammenhang lohnt sich auch ein Blick auf das Bundeszentralamt für Steuern (BZSt) und die dort gespeicherten personenbezogenen Daten.

So können über einen steuerlichen Datenschutzantrag beim BZSt die zu der Steuerlichen Identifikationsnummer, der Kirchensteuerabzugsmerkmale sowie den elektronischen Lohnsteuer Abzugsmerkmalen (ELStAM) gespeicherten Daten in Erfahrung gebracht werden. Von Interesse bei den ELStAM kann z.B. sein, welcher Arbeitgeber zuletzt diese Daten mit welcher Lohnsteuerklasse abgerufen hat.

Ferner sind von Interesse Informationen zu freigestellten Kapitalerträgen. Nehmen zum Steuerabzug vom Kapitalertrag verpflichtete Stellen (z.B. Banken, Versicherungen, Wohnungsbaugesellschaften oder Bausparkassen) aufgrund einer Freistellungsbescheinigung (FSA) oder Nichtveranlagungsbescheinigung (NVB) Abstand vom Steuerabzug, müssen sie dies an das BZSt melden. Über den Auskunftsantrag nach Art. 15 DSGVO können Steuerbürger oder deren steuerliche Berater sodann eine tabellarische Übersicht aller Meldungen der letzten 13 Jahre beziehen. Aus der Tabelle ergeben sich u.a. der Name der meldenden Stelle, der Name des Gläubigers, das Meldejahr, der Meldegrund (FSA/NVB) und der tatsächlich freigestellte Kapitalbetrag.

Insbesondere die steuerliche Datenschutzauskunft zu den tatsächlich freigestellten Kapitalerträgen ermöglicht Steuerbürgern und steuerlichen Beratern innerhalb kürzester Zeit, ein zusammenfassendes Bild aller Nichtveranlagungsbescheinigungen sowie Freistellungsaufträge zu erhalten.

Daher wäre es ratsam, wenn mehr Steuerbürger ihre Daten bei Finanzbehörden, wie dem BZSt, erfragen. Einerseits können diese personenbezogenen Daten auf Vollständigkeit geprüft werden. Zugleich ist davon auszugehen, dass sich bei einem vermehrten Aufkommen von Auskunftsanträgen das Bewusstsein und die Sensibilität der Finanzbehörden im Umgang mit den personenbezogenen Daten ihrer Steuerbürger verbessert.